Founded more than 190 years ago, Farmington, Michigan has grown up around a hub of commercial activity along Grand River Avenue, once a primary trail for Native American tribes that originally inhabited the area.
Arthur Power, a Quaker and landowner from Farmington, New York, felled the first tree in the area of 11 Mile and Power Roads (now Farmington Hills) in 1824. Businesses developed over the next 20 years, including merchant shops, an undertaker, saw and grist mills, dairies and cheese factories.
Farmington Township experienced a period of tremendous growth from 1850 to 1890. In the 1870s, the central business district transitioned to the Grand River area. The Grace family pioneered the area, building a dry goods store where the Korner Barbers now stands at Farmington Road and Grand River.
Tragically, a major fire destroyed a number of buildings on Grand River in October, 1872. Flames destroyed several shops, the Masonic Hall, township hall and township records. The township built a new town hall at Grand River and Farmington Road in 1876; the Masons leased space in the upper level and still maintain the building today.
While some of Farmington's historic downtown buildings were lost to the fire or other development, others remain; among them, the Village Mall (formerly Farmington State Bank building), the Cook Building and the Peoples State Bank building. This unique blend of timeless architecture and more up-to-date shops make strolling through Downtown Farmington a truly enjoyable experience.